An emergency situation has been declared in Estonia due to the pandemic spread of the coronavirus in the world.

From 17 March there will be a temporary restriction on entry to Estonia for foreign nationals who do not hold an Estonian residence permit or right of residence, or have family members in Estonia. Foreigners are allowed to transit Estonia on the way to their home country if they do not show symptoms of COVID-19. At the border control travel documents and medical symptoms will be checked.There are no restrictions on exiting the country.

We care about your and everyone’s health. For this reason and in order to stop the spread of the coronavirus and flu, we kindly ask you to seriously consider whether coming to the representation is essential, and refrain from doing so if you are not feeling well, suspect that you or a family member has become infected, or you or a family member has been in an area of the coronavirus epidemic in the past 14 days. Thank you for your understanding!

In addition to previous measures, restrictions on movement are in force in Estonia from 14 March in line with the emergency situation.

On 17 March 2020, applications for Schengen visas and long-stay visas to Estonia can no longer be submitted at representations and visa centres of external service providers. This also applies to Schengen visa applications that are processed by Estonia on behalf of another member state.

Further information

History of Diplomatic Relations

Poland recognised Estonia’s independence on 31 December 1920 and re-recognised the Republic of Estonia on 26 August 1991. Diplomatic relations between Estonia and Poland were re-established in September 1991.

Estonia opened its embassy in Warsaw on 20 June 1995. Chargé d’Affaires Riho Laanemäe worked there initially; in 1996 Peeter Restsinski became the Estonian ambassador to Poland. From 2000 to 2005, the Estonian ambassador to Poland was Aivo Orav, from 2005 to 2009, the ambassador was Ants Frosch, from 2009 to 2013, Taavi Toom, from 2013 to 2014 Eerik Marmei and from 2014 to 2018, the ambassador was Harri Tiido. As of September 2018, the Ambassador of Estonia to Poland is Martin Roger.

Estonia has five honorary consulates in Poland. Estonia’s first honorary consulate in Poland was opened in Szczecin in 2002. The honorary consul there is Robert Kornecki and the jurisdiction of the consulate comprises the administrative districts of Zachodniopomorskie, Pomorskie, and Lubuskie.

The honorary consulate opened in Krakow in 2006 is led by lawyer Piotr Paluch, and its jurisdiction comprises the administrative districts of Malopolskie, Podkarpackie and Slaskie.

In May 2012, Estonia opened its honorary consulate in Gdańsk. The honorary consul is the former mayor of Gdańsk and lawyer Tomasz Posadzki, and the consulate’s jurisdiction is the Pomorze administrative district.

The honorary consulate in Białystok was opened in March 2016, Estonian honorary consul in (jurisdiction: administrative district of Podlasie) is Doctor of Law Iwona Wrońska.

In November 2019, Estonia opened its honorary consulate in Wrocław. The honorary consul is entrepreneur Waldemar Jan Siemiński and the consulate’s jurisdiction is the Lower Silesian and Opole administrative districts.

The Polish Embassy in Estonia was opened in Tallinn in August 1993. Initially the Polish ambassador to Estonia was Ambassador Jarosław Lindenberg, residing in Riga. Starting from November 1994, it was Jakub Wolasiewicz, who resided in Tallinn. Current ambassador Grzegorz Kozłowski presented his credentials to President Kersti Kaljulaid in February 2018.